top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Severino

10 things to look out for in Cusco, Peru

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

I heave heard Peru slipped into conversation many times over over the last few years.


The first time I considered it a travel destination was after college. I was in my office and one of my best friends and colleagues mentioned the Inca trail and ruins to me as a dream vacation. From then, I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind (hiker or not, it intrigued me). When my husband asked me which honeymoon destination I would like to pick, without hesitation ‘Peru’ was blurted out.

South America is a massive continent. I wouldn’t dare generalize as all regions, let alone countries, are unique. I always imagined a vibe there, with salsa dancing; exotic fruit; the jungle; and glorious vegetation, from mountain to ocean.

Cusco, the city in which you arrive to start your journey is a smaller, ‘can be covered on foot’ type destination and I found it gentler, the people softer and friendlier than I had expected. Lima, much larger, had a lot going on but I seemed to get lost in the bigness of it all.

Cusco, Peru

As you amble along the narrow, cobblestone streets at Cusco’s centre, licking a soft serve (or in my case, catching it as it dribbles over my chin and fingers), you will stumble upon beautifully designed churches and buildings, far too many curio stores (selling trinkets to foreigners) and restaurants—the first and second floors boasting specials to passers by and using the incredible views and local dishes to sell the menu.

While I was there, 10 distinct observations struck me, forming memories of Cusco. Here are 10 things you, too, will discover in Cusco, Peru.

One. Llamas and their precious wool

Those iconic llamas on postcards and cartoon strips? Well, they’re real, pets, wool-providers and you will see them in the streets.


Ladies donned in local attire will be sitting around the main square holding Llama lambs (cutest ever) wanting their picture taken for a small fee. Curios such as socks, sweaters and scarves made from llama or baby llama wool (the latter being softer and more expensive) are sold almost anywhere in bright, Peruvian pinks, blues and greens. Irresistible.

Two. Coca leaves

'Coca' will become part of your vocabulary—the leaves, the candy, the tea (you'll try it all, every day).


The locals swear by coca and it's altitude-combatting properties. It is said to be good for workers, giving them energy and drive. You will witness plastic bags of it sold in local markets for 1 Sol, see many people chewing the dried leaves (not my favorite, smell nor taste) and will be coaxed into drinking it as tea (do). Whether it helps of not, I can't actually say but don't try taking it as a souvenir through the airport. The tea however, makes you feel (mentally) like you are acclimatizing and learning from the locals- all good things.

Three. Guinea-pigs (and other dishes to try)

Guinea-pigs are not pets, but food. Be adventurous and try the local dish, cuy on the menu. Deliciousness personified. #foodcoma


Recommended Peruvian dishes to wet your appetite:

Aji de gallina - the name 'aji' refers to a yellow pepper, giving this chicken dish it's custard-yellow color and mild flavor. The sauce is thickened with condensed milk and white bread, lavished generously, resembling a chicken curry. The varieties I tried were served on a base of potatoes or a generous portion of white rice, topped with a plumb, purple olive.


Couscous soup starter - a vegetate-based broth thickened with cous cous.


Ceviche - This famous Peruvian dish contains raw fish 'cooked' in acidic lemon juice. The ceviche I encountered was undeniably the most delicious dish I had the pleasure of sampling in Peru and was served on a bed of slivered red onion and choclo (Andean corn, pastel yellow in color with thumbnail-sized, chewy kernels).


Four. Pisco sour

Pisco is the National drink of Peru and one for those who imbibe. The popular alcoholic drink is offered in a variety of experimental flavors, although the original is my favorite.


The basic ingredients consist of (layered from bottom to top):

- Ice

- Pisco (spirit extracted from fermented grape juice)

- Green lemon juice (found in Peru and used in ceviche)

- Sugar syrup (made from combining and cooking sugar and syrup until the mixture thickens)

- Frothy egg white on top for the signature foam

- Angostura Bitter to seal the deal (and it prevents stomach ache)

If you want to make it at home, try this recipe:

- 1 key lime

- handful ice

- 3oz Pisco

- 1oz simple sugar (can be made using one part sugar to one part water)

- 1 egg white

- 2 drops Angostura Bitters (or a dash of cinnamon if you can't source it)

Method (it makes one large cocktail or two small)

Add all ingredients, except bitters to a shaker or a blender and shake/blend. Strain into a quirky glass, add the bitters or cinnamon and serve immediately.

Five. Inca Kola

Move aside Coca Cola, Inca Kola is the most popular drink in Peru.


Its simple graphics and electric yellow color are hard to miss and can be bought anywhere from local markets to mountainside stores. It's tastes similar to cheap bubble but if neon yellow had a favor, this Peruvian drink obsession would be it.



Six. Chicha (purple corn drink)

Who knew I would ever be ordering a fermented corn drink, hot and/or cold, and PURPLE in color?

Well, I did. It is non-alcoholic and the corn is boiled with with pineapple, cinnamon, clove, and sugar. It was unexpectedly wonderful, tasty and popular and I admit to having seconds. You must try it, really.


Seven. Blue doors

Painting your door or patio blue is a symbol of good luck a symbol, which a large portion of home owners seem to have clung to. You'll spot them everywhere.



Eight. Hairless Peruvian dogs

Peruvian Inca Orchid (a breed more recently accepted as an official standard) is the dog breed that has existed in Peru for thousands of years—it was one of the breeds of the Incan Empire.

The dogs are known to have survived in rural areas on the belief that they have magical properties linked to pain relief and a cure for arthritis. They're not the easiest on the eye, however.


Nine. Local markets

The San Pedro Market, a ten minute walk from central Plaza de Armas, is filled with juices and fresh fruits, nuts and local foods, tourist souvenirs, paintings and flowers. It is an overwhelming experience with lots to see, smell and taste. Take your time haggling and finding the right price for things—there's a lot of competition.

I bought local fruit and nuts but steered clear from the juice, as I didn't have any charcoal tablets with me to save my foreign stomach—no one wants to get sick the day before a challenging hike.


The market is open everyday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., so take advantage because there are no grocery stores in sight.



Ten. Machu Picchu

Best for last, of course. Machu Picchu is the reason most people travel to Peru. But why the buzz?

Machu Picchu, an ancient Incan city built in the 15th century high in the Andes Mountains, is a World Heritage Site. The site and infrastructure is a Mathematical and Astrological mystery in its accuracy and detail.

A 4 a.m. wake-up call to wait in line for buses that start running at 5:30 a.m. is the start to a long day exploring Incan Ruins. Lots of water and snacks are needed, as well as a jacket for the early morning chill. For more 'I wish I knew' tips regarding Machu Picchu, read here.


I hope you have been enticed to visit. I loved my trip and openly recommend Cusco, Peru as a top-ten travel destination for your bucket list. Eat a mini banana (tastes like honey) from the market for me!

Much love,

Kate x


bottom of page